Rule change provides educational loan repayment assistance to dental hygienists and forensic pathologists

The administrative rule, R434-40, which governs Utah’s Health Care Workforce Financial Assistance Program was updated on January 11, 2024 to better support Utah’s healthcare workforce. The rule updates now allow dental hygienists and forensic pathologists to apply and receive financial assistance for paying off a portion of their student loans. 

The rule change also allows for an earlier award installment. Participants who enter the program after January 11 may now receive their first payment towards their student loans after 3 months in the program. Previously, participants were required to wait 6 months before receiving their first payment.

To learn more about the program and review the eligibility requirements, visit

This program is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) as part of a financial assistance award totaling $2,378,650, with 45% funded by HRSA/HHS and 55% funded by Utah’s state Legislature. The contents are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent the official views of, nor an endorsement, by HRSA/HHS or the U.S. government.